Print Page | Contact Us
2018 NCBP Fellows Awards
Share |

2018 Nominations

Attention Bar Leaders and Bar Executives: The National Conference of Bar Presidents (NCBP) is presently accepting nominations for the 2018 NCBP Fellows Award. Awards will be presented on Friday, February 2, 2018, at the 2018 NCBP Midyear Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia. To participate, please review the information below.

Award Purpose

The National Conference of Bar Presidents (NCBP) established the NCBP Fellows Award at its 2005 annual meeting to honor an outstanding past president of a bar association. NCBP is currently accepting nominations for the 2018 NCBP Fellows Award. The award will be presented at the 2018 NCBP Midyear Meeting in Vancouver.


To qualify for a nomination, an individual must meet the following criteria:

  • Must be a past president of a bar association
  • Must have demonstrated a continuing commitment to leadership, service, the work of the organized bar and the purpose of the NCBP
  • Must have demonstrated a lifetime of achievement or exceptional service to lawyers or the public
  • An individual need not be a dues paying member of the NCBP for consideration
  • Current members of the NCBP Executive Council are not eligible
Nomination Process

The following information listed below is required to nominate an individual.

  • Please submit a nomination letter indicating how the nominated individual meets the above noted criteria
  • Within the letter, please include the nominator’s contact information
  • Also please submit the nominee's resume or biography describing his or her background and contributions
Continued Consideration

All nominees who are not chosen to receive the Fellows Award will be considered for up to three years from their initial application, and do not need to re-apply. Nominees can be considered for more than three years, but must re-apply after three years.

How to Submit

Please submit all nomination materials electronically, no later than Friday, November 10, 2017 to:

Tom Rombach, NCBP Fellows Award Chair
c/o Teresa Peavy, ABA Division for Bar Services Program Specialist,

(Acceptable formats include PDF copies and MS Word docs).

Past Award Recipients
  • 2017 Karol Corbin Walker, Newark, NJ
  • 2016 Elizabeth "Betsy" Van Doren Gray, Columbia, SC
  • 2015 William G. Paul, Oklahoma City, OK
  • 2014 Charles C. Keller, Washington, PA
  • 2013 Marna S. Tucker, Washington, D.C.
  • 2012 Jack B. Middleton, Manchester, NH
  • 2011 Herbert S. Garten, Baltimore, MD
  • 2010 Mark I. Harrison, Phoenix, AZ
  • 2009 Roy A. Hammer, Boston, MA
  • 2008 John L. Carey, Vero Beach, FL
  • 2007 James B. Sales, Houston, TX
  • 2006 Joseph L. Stone, Chicago, IL