Print Page | Contact Us
NCBP 2019 Fellows Award Winner
Share |
Congratulations to Frederic S. Ury, 2019 NCBP Fellows Award Recipient

Fred S. Ury, past president of the Connecticut Bar Association and the National Conference of Bar Presidents, has been named the 2019 NCBP Fellows Award Winner.

In addition to his bar presidency, Frederic Ury has been practicing law for 42 years, and has continued his leadership and lifetime of service to the organized bar, lawyers, and the public. His mark on the legal profession and legal leaders is far-reaching and unmistakable, being recognized by the Connecticut Bar Association as the 2013 recipient of the John Eldridge Shields Distinguished Professional Service Award.

After finishing a successful term as President of NCBP, Mr. Ury continues to stay involved with NCBP, and the American Bar Association. He is presently Chair of the Co-Ordinating Council for the Center for Professional Responsibility. He is an expert on such diverse topics as civil procedure and ethics, trial techniques, and the future of the legal profession, presenting seminars throughout the United States, and writing about the profession in many publications.

In 2007,Mr. Ury was appointed by the Chief Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court to serve as one of two attorneys on the Steering Committee of the State of Connecticut Judicial Branch’s Public Service and Trust Commission. In addition, in the wake of the September 11th terrorist attacks, Mr. Ury donated hundreds of hours of free legal representation to World Trade Center victims and their families in hearings before the Victims’ Compensation Board. As a result, he and the firm helped recover millions of dollars for the 9/11 victims’ families; and

Mr. Ury’s reach extends beyond the legal profession, the state bar, the NCBP, and the ABA. He has given his time and talents to the Connecticut Bar Foundation, the Connecticut Supreme Court, and various pro bono and philanthropic projects in his community, including the Community Council of Westport-Weston, the United Way of Westport-Weston, the Westport-Weston Foundation, and the Congregation for Humanistic Judaism. Mr. Ury is an avid bicyclist and founding member of Charity Treks, Inc., funding research into finding a vaccine for AIDS.

Mr. Ury will be awarded the 2019 NCBP Fellows Award during the NCBP/NABE/NCBF Joint Awards Luncheon during the 2019 Midyear Meeting in Las Vegas, NV, for exemplifying all that this award was created to celebrate, showing a fierce dedication to the NCBP mission, and a continuing commitment to bar leaders nationwide.


Past NCBP Fellows Award Winners

 Year Name Bar
 2006   Paul Michael Hassert   Bar Association of Erie County/New York State Bar Association  
 2007  James B. Sales  Houston Bar Association/State Bar of Texas
 2008  John L. Carey  Indiana State Bar Association
 2009  Roy Hammer  Massachusetts State Bar Association
 2010  Mark I. Harrison  State Bar of Arizona
 2011  Herbert S. Garten  Maryland State Bar Association
 2012  Jack B. Middleton  New Hampshire Bar Association
 2013 Marna S. Tucker  D.C. Bar
 2014  Charles C. Keller  Washington County Bar Association
 2015  William G. Paul  Oklahoma Bar Association
 2016  Elizabeth "Betsy" Van Doren Gray  South Carolina Bar
 2017  Karol Corbin Walker  New Jersey State Bar Association
 2019  Fred D. Gray Alabama State Bar and National Bar Association