Print Page | Contact Us
March NCBP 21st Century Lawyer Program
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

3/21/2019
When: Thursday, March 21, 2019
1:00 PM

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

The Changing Ethics Landscape: A View of the New Horizon

March 21, 2019

2:00 - 3:00 p.m. eastern time
(1:00 - 2:00 p.m. central time; 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. mountain time; 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. pacific time)

 

"Throughout the United States, legal regulators face a challenging environment in which the cost of traditional legal services is going up, access to legal services is going down, the growth rate of law firms is flat, and lawyers serving ordinary people are struggling to earn a living. The primary mechanism for regulating this market is lawyer ethics, including the historical prohibition on non-lawyer ownership of businesses engaged in the practice of law. However, private investors are increasingly pushing the boundaries of these rules by funding new technologies and service delivery models designed to solve many of the legal market’s most vexing problems.”

-- Legal Market Landscape Report (State Bar of California)

In this webinar, Patrick Palace will talk with Bill Henderson, Professor of Law at Indiana University Maurer School of Law (and author of the “Legal Market Landscape Report”) and Jayne Reardon, Executive Director of the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism, and discuss the new legal ethics landscape that is evolving in California, Illinois, Oregon and beyond. You will learn about the changes you should watch, those that may fail and the changes you may not see coming. If you are a Bar leader, this is an essential webinar to prepare you for the future that just might be coming to your bar next.

MODERATOR
Patrick Palace, Past President, Washington State Bar Association and Member, NCBP Council

SPEAKER
Bill Henderson, Professor of Law at Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Jayne Reardon, Executive Director of the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism