Print Page | Contact Us
21st Century Lawyer: THE JANUS RULE - WHAT COMES NEXT FOR UNIFIED BARS?
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

 Export to Your Calendar 1/7/2019
When: Monday, January 7
1:00 p.m. central time


Online registration is available until: 1/7/2019
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

21st Century Lawyer: THE JANUS RULE - WHAT COMES NEXT FOR UNIFIED BARS?

January 7, 2019

2:00 p.m. Eastern time (1:00 p.m. Central; 12:00 p.m. Mountain; 11:00 a.m. Pacific)

In June of 2018, the United States Supreme Court decided in Janus vs. AFSCME, that public employees do not have to pay fees to unions to cover the costs of collective bargaining; a decision that individual lawyers in states where bar membership is mandatory were watching closely. Join two veteran bar leaders during this webinar as they discuss the state of the unified bar since the Janus decision. We'll look at what mandatory bars are doing from different angles - from those who are staying the course, to those who've already decided to create something new.

MODERATOR:

Sharon Stern Gerstman, Past President, The New York State Bar Association

SPEAKERS:

Emilio Varanini, Vice President, California Lawyers Association

Janet Welch, Executive Director, State Bar of Michigan