Print Page | Contact Us
21st Century Lawyer: THE JANUS RULE - WHAT COMES NEXT FOR UNIFIED BARS?
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

1/7/2019
When: Monday, January 7
1:00 p.m. central time


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

21st Century Lawyer: WHAT COMES NEXT FOR UNIFIED BARS?

January 7, 2019

2:00 p.m. Eastern time (1:00 p.m. Central; 12:00 p.m. Mountain; 11:00 a.m. Pacific)

In June of 2018, the United States Supreme Court decided in Janus vs. AFSCME, that public employees do not have to pay fees to unions to cover the costs of collective bargaining, a decision that individual lawyers in states where bar membership is mandatory were watching closely. Now the Supreme Court has ordered the Fleck vs. Wetch decision back to the circuit court to reconsider. Join two veteran bar leaders during this webinar as they discuss the state of the unified bar since the Janus and Fleck decisions. We'll look at what mandatory bars are doing from different angles - from those who are staying the course, to those who've already decided to create something new.


MODERATOR:

Sharon Stern Gerstman, Past President, The New York State Bar Association

SPEAKERS:

Emilio Varanini, Vice President, California Lawyers Association

Janet Welch, Executive Director, State Bar of Michigan


Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone or Android device: zoom.us/w/701678787?tk=dC39avy0aGcO9B4SBvqi7R4W4V9moy124mwAAL-ix5Q.DQEAAAAAKdLEwxpmYWtlRlR1TmZhOElRa21EcGV2SkY3eEVYQQA

Or Telephone:

Dial:
US: +1 646 558 8656

or +1 720 707 2699
Webinar ID: 701 678 787

Or iPhone one-tap:

US: +16465588656,,701678787# or +17207072699,,701678787#

Please submit any questions to: teresa.peavy@americanbar.org